Geocaching – A Must Do!

Many of you all probably have never heard of this word and the ones that have, probably are not entirely sure what it means, and this was me a week ago. I first saw this on Saturday morning on Facebook when a friend of mine stated that he was going to do it with his family. I immediately asked, “What is it?”. The response I got was very vague which directed to me to basically write it off as I never asked. He stated it was a world-wide treasure hunt, and to me, it sounded very complicated and something I did not have time for. I will be the first one to tell you that Geocaching is much more then that. I then took my kids and girlfriend to a zoo about two hours away. There was this show that they performed there that ironically was about Geocaching. They taught the entire crowd what it was all about and how to get started. They showed that it was a very simple thing and it only required a smart phone with GPS capability.

All you have to do is go to your iTunes or Google store, download the app called Geocaching (I recommend the free one so you can see for yourself what it exactly is first). After you have done that, go to their website and watch their video, learn what it is by this short clip and then try the app yourself. https://www.geocaching.com/

Once you got the app, turn your GPS on and open the app. It starts working immediately showing you were the nearest Geocaches are to your location. Geocaches are locations with a logbook and maybe trinkets for you to find, and sometimes they are not easy. The GPS will lead you to the cache but will only bring you within 30ft of it. It is then up to you to find the item that you are looking for by using the hints (if there is any) on the app. The item you are looking for will most likely be well hidden as you will see later on as I share my experiences on my first two finds.

Olivia and I first tried this with just us because we were not entirely sure how safe it was but after we did our first two Geocaches, we realized that it was family friendly, you just might need some tools to help find some things.

Geocache 1: Once we turned on our app, we immediately saw that there was one only a 1/3 of a mile from us so we decided to walk to it and it happened to be in the middle of a cemetery. At first it was very odd, creepy, and weird to be looking around a cemetery for a hidden item but after reading reviews, it is an actual common place to find these at. We spent roughly 30 minutes looking for this item to end up finding a business size laminated card under the bark around a V shaped tree. This was all that was there since it was a tight location but thankfully we did end up finding it. It was so exciting that we reopened the app, logged in our experience and decided to go get another, which was an additional half mile away.

Geocache 2: As we walked to this geocache, I realized that the distance to the cache is as the crow flies and not by the route you will take. It took us about 15-20 minutes to get to the next one and once we got there, this one was a larger box containing trinkets and a logbook. This is also when I realized that safety is key when participating in geocaching. You never know what you are digging up and being careful is paramount. This is why tools come in handy so that you are as safe as possible. Once we opened this box, we signed the logbook, left our own trinket behind and decided to not take one out ourselves. 

This is basically what it is and it can be quite exciting if you give it a chance. I urge everyone to give it a chance and if not for you, for your kids. It is a free and fun activity that can take up a good portion of your day and remain entertaining the entire time. I hope you all enjoyed this entry and I also hope that you reblog this to pass on to your followers so that they too can learn about this fun activity.

 download (1) download Geocache geocache-label Geocaches-hidden-by-country-graphic images

11 thoughts on “Geocaching – A Must Do!”

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog and welcome to the wonderful world of geocaching. I’ve discovered that a pocket full of money is useful when you take kids with you so you can stop at any shops and ice cream vans en route for refreshments 😀 It’s tiring work, all this walking.

  2. You reminded me of a family who I caught in the act of geocaching, while at a birthday party in a local park. When we asked what they were doing I honestly thought ” oh yeah, this dude is off his rocker” I just didn’t get it! But of course, I had to go home and google it. It looks really awesome! I know my son would love it! I forgot all about it until I read your post. Thanks for the reminder and I’ll definitely be trying it out. 🙂

  3. I’ve heard so much about this but haven’t had a chance to try. Can’t wait to go Geocaching when I move to Vancouver in a few months. I imagine it’d be more exciting to do in nature (as opposed to in the city – maybe equally as fun?) Thank you for posting! 🙂

      1. Vancouver, British Colombia (in Canada. Just north of Washington State)! I’m originally from Toronto, Canada but will move out west soon. I was in Utah this summer and loved it. The scenery was incredible, especially Moab, Utah. Can’t wait to get back to the mountains and gorgeous views!

  4. I too only learned about geocaching this past year. I was on assignment for the local newspaper reporting about the event. I loved the little scavenger, but haven’t made time to go again. Thanks for the reminder!!

Leave a Reply

