Local Jungle Gym

I would like to start off about saying that I had a great weekend with my family (my two kids and my girlfriend). It started off with me picking the kids up from their mom Friday morning and from that point, we went to the local “Kids Club”. This is a place full of entertainment for kids from a large jungle gym to a swimming pool, to gymnastics and dance classes. We just hung out at in the large

jungle gym area where Abby (18mos old now) played in the toddler area with other kids her age and Andrew (4 as of July 30th) played in the large portion with kids of all ages and sizes. I would say we spent about two hours in there which only cost roughly $15.00, a great price for kids to get their social skills. After that we went home and got food. Abby was ready for a nap, obviously after a busy  day. Andrew and I hung out for a few minutes until the next door neighbor girls wanted to play in the back yard and they enjoyed the outside getting dirty and running around for 3 hours until their mom came to pick them up (from their grandmother). During this entire time, after Abby woke up, we hung out and played around the house together with her toys. We had so much fun together and she loved nothing more than having the complete attention of her daddy. It was about six in the evening when Andrew came back inside and just when you think that the night was started to calm down, it was just starting to pick up. The Kids Club that we were at earlier has the Kids night out thing for kids 4-12 where they go a watch movies, do arts and crafts, play in the jungle gym and have a party without the adults and Andrew really wanted to go (They split up the kids in age groups so that they could do age appropriate things). This was only $20.00 for this, which again, was a great price for some fun and entertainment for your child that likes to get out and enjoy a good time with other kids his age. I dropped him off at 630 and had to be there to pick him up anywhere from 930-1030. I figured this is set up for parents so that they could have a date night or something but still hard for me because I had Abby still. I went home and, had dinner with Abby and Olivia, played around for a while until Abby was ready for bed. She usually goes to bed around eight, which gave Olivia and I a few hours to enjoy few hours to our self before it was time to pick up Andrew, which I did about 10pm. When I picked him up, he was so sad to leave and said that he had so much fun, even though he was about an hour past his normal bedtime. We went home, and got in bed and the was the conclusion of our wonderful and fun filled day.

After we all woke up on Saturday morning, we gathered our things to head out to the Firstenberg Center (a place that had a pool, gym, and many other things for families to enjoy together). I got to spend some good quality time to Andrew today while Abby went to the day care that they offered here. Andrew and I hung out in the pool for an hour and a half and he insisted on going down a water slide around two dozen times. A normal kid his age would have no thrill of going on this slide since it was so big and did loops and what not, but not Andrew. I also got in my exercise that day because it was like forty steps up to the top of the slide. After we were done there and picked up Abby, we went to the library, checked out some kid books and movies, and some parenting books for Olivia and I so that we could learn more about the skill of parenting. By the time we were done with this, it was about 1pm and Abby was ready for a nap. We went home and she slept for a few hours while Andrew and I continue to play inside the house and enjoy each other’s company. Once Abby woke up, I took both of them on an hour drive to my parent’s house where they would stay that night so I can begin to organize and prepare for Andrew’s birthday party that would be the next day, at Klineline Park.

The day that Andrew has been waiting for, for weeks now has arrived and it was time for us to kick it into high gear so that we can make sure to get this party set up properly. We had to build one of his presents, a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (TMNT) bike. We also organized it so that the entire party was TMNT themed from the wrapping paper, to the presents, to the piñata. Even the clothes he wore were TMNT, as well as the cake! He got about twenty turtle action figures and one bad guy (I have a feeling that bad guy will be out numbered, slightly). There were eight kids there and after the presents, they took turns taking one swing and the piñata, which was a Ninja Turtle. The only down side to this was Andrew decided to act like a Ninja Turtle himself and he full on punched another girl that was at the party, which looked like in the chest from my angle. At that point, I had to sit him down and make sure he understood the difference of a show and reality. After that was clear I made him go apologize to the other child and make sure that she was ok. Nonetheless, he was quite traumatized by what he did and he understood pretty quickly that what he did was not right. Unfortunately, after the party was over, I had to take him home to his mom’s house. This made it not possible for him to get to play with his toys and was very hard for him to understand but I told him he would be back with Daddy and Olivia before he knew it.

Overall we had a great weekend and very little complaints. We had some great help from friends and family to throw this party and to make it as best as we could. I am very thankful for everyone that came out to enjoy this experience and could not ask for a better turnout.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

3 thoughts on “Local Jungle Gym”

  1. Parenting done right. I am glad you explained to him about not hitting the other child, and made him apologize. I’ve seen parents come out with “kids will be kids”…and we had PARENTS aiding and abetting a little girl getting trampled at a local “Frozen” event. Ticks me off royally.

  2. Stopped over since I have noticed you over on my blog. Nice blog here, I seem to have seen that header before…..hmmm, if I could just remember where. Good read, parenting is not something I have much if any experience with but reading your entry it sounds like you are doing it quite well. Also the fact that you are recording, in good detail, here on this blog is a gift to both you and your children. Most of all it takes time, care and love to do it, the three things that children need the most. Keep it up, kids will forget the toys, but they will remember the time spent and the love shared.

Leave a Reply

