Rollercoaster of a Life

It sure has been awhile since I have gotten the chance to get a blog in but it has been a rollercoaster type of month. For anyone that has been following my blog so far, knows that I have been getting very close to getting this job in law enforcement that would change my family’s life forever. I was looking at a 3x pay increase from my current job and benefits that could not be beaten.

To give a quick rundown for anyone that is not familiar with application and hiring process when going through law enforcement, and as most would know, they will not hire anyone. They have a very long extensive hiring process to make sure that they are hiring the right people for the job. You have to go through a number of interview, tests, physical and written, before they even consider offering you a job. Then you have to go through an actual physical with a doctor and psychological with another doctor to see if you have the right kind of personality for the job.

Well I have been applying for these kinds of positions for five years now, ever since I got discharged from the Marine Corps in 2009. You’d think that was enough experience to do such a job, but it was not. So I decided to go to school to help me possibly get a job, but continued to apply for these positions while I did my studies. In the summer of 2013, I graduated college with a Bachelors of Science in Criminology from Portland State University. I knew at this point I should have it easy but that was quickly proven wrong. I still was not getting any further in the hiring process for agencies within a hundred miles of my residence. Finally I applied to go work at Multnomah County Corrections, a jail position for the most populated county in Oregon, in February of 2014. Immediately I was cruising through this hiring process, getting the best interview and testing scores out of the hundreds that applied. I landed myself second on their eligibility list that they were hiring off of. From this point, my background started, and was completed quickly. I have very few skeletons in the closet which made this process go by much faster than the average person. During the background process, they check everything from your social media to your family to what you have done in the past. I was sure to pass this process due to knowing that I have nothing to hide and I am completely honest about everything. I know lying to someone about your past is just lying to yourself. Something I picked up while working in the drug rehab field (which is what I currently do). After the background process was completed, I was offered a chance to meet with the chief deputy of the corrections department for an interview, where if he liked my character, he would give me a conditional job offer (stating that I would work there if I passed my psych evaluation and medical physical). I went in for the interview and it was a great experience and he loved my background, telling me that I was the perfect fit that they are looking for and he gave me that job offer. This is where the rollercoaster of emotions started because I know, from what I have been told, that the psych evaluation was by far the most stressful part.

A few days later I was scheduled to go in and do my medical physical. This I had no doubt I would pass, and I was right. Went in, was there for about an hour and a half, and out with no issues that I was not aware of. Those issues were very minor and nothing that needed to be addressed. This took place on July 11th of this year and my psychological evaluation would take place four days later, on Tuesday. When that day came I tried to remain as most relaxed as possible but it was very hard. When I got into the office, they got me started on a series of written tests that equaled out to be about 800 questions in total. Nothing hard, just a basic IQ and a personality test. After that, they would process your answers, give them to the doctor who would then review them and call you in for an interview. When I got called in and the entire time I was in that office, I felt that the interview went well. I noticed some points that he, the doctor, was trying to get me flustered to see my reaction but I remained calm the entire time. He asked questions about my past which was no issue at all. At first when I left the office I felt good knowing that I was going to start my new career, my new life in just a few weeks, until I got a call from the county human resources a few days later telling me that the psychologist recommended me unfit for the job. I have no idea where he got his findings from or his belief that I would not be capable of doing this job but it was quite upsetting news. I had got my mind set on how my new life was going to be and prepared for the training that was to come but there was nothing I could do, no one I could talk to, just had to take the news and move on to the next chapter of my life, which was getting ready for unemployment for the first time in my life.

This time has yet to come; in fact I have about thirty days until unemployment takes effect, unless I can land myself a new job in the time being. I am losing my current job because of a lack of grant funding, which states that it is obviously not something that was caused by me. I am not sure what I will be doing in a month but I am hoping that it is something that I enjoy. I plan on continuing to apply for law enforcement jobs and keep interviewing because it takes a lot to knock me down and keep me down. I am dedicated to make a better life for me and my family and that is something I give a lot of credit to my girlfriend for. If it wasn’t for her standing by my side, I would not be in the state of mind that I am today. I would no doubt been still on the ground from being knocked down by that devastating news last week.

Thanks again for everyone that enjoys reading about my life, I am more than enjoy writing about my life, even the down parts, which helps me get things off my chest. If you enjoy what you are reading, please feel free to check out my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/rc3.blog for continuous posts and even short posts that do not make it on the blog post. Thank to you all for your support!

29 thoughts on “Rollercoaster of a Life”

  1. No wonder you feel disappointed, I would break someone’s neck if I had to answer 800 questions for nothing! BUT don’t let this get you down, remember sometimes one door closes so that another can open. I hope your opportunity comes along soon.

  2. Keep at it. Looks like things vary from state to state. I had no real trouble with the initial psychological eval, even with a dark spot in my background. I lost out because of my eyesight. (Which really is horrible without correction) Then again, things may have changed in the twenty years since I scored highly on the trooper’s exam.

  3. All your preparation may very well open doors in other unplanned, unexpected ways in the future. I applaud you for working at making a better life for your family. Your kids will never forget that devotion to their care.

  4. Being knocked down sucks. What’s important is that you get back up, look life in the eye and say, “BRING IT!”
    Remember that almost every successful person beings with two beliefs: the future can be better than the present, and I have the power to make it so.

  5. Hey tkpd, is there any way you can find out what it was that the psychologist found that made you ‘unfit for the job in his eyes’. Perhaps it is simply a misunderstanding. Perhaps it is something that you need to work on, or you can change in some way? Don’t think for a minute you need to change, from reading your blog you seem to me to have your head screwed on the right way and your kids are gorgeous. Hang in there. It is said ‘Good things come to those who wait’ ; this is either a well known proverb, or else its a fortune cookie ‘fortune’…. not sure which…..

  6. Thanks for sharing. You never know when you’ll be the light to someone’s darkness. Keep on working toward you goals, dream big and believe. I pray you find good job soon, you deserve the best. Thank you for your service.

  7. With a BS in Criminology is there some other route you could take to get your foot in the door so to speak? Sometimes it’s necessary to just get into the system and then find the right door to move into the job you really want. Good luck.

  8. Another thought…worked with someone whose spouse was in law enforcement and she always mentioned how EVERY aspect of a candidates life reflects on the decision to hire/advance. Social media can be great to express yourself, but all of it is checked and checked again. Maybe putting aside things like FB, Twitter, blogging, posting pics, etc., might be necessary. Seems harsh and unfair, but sometimes it’s about playing the game and social media expression may be frowned upon?

  9. That sucks, having your hopes up and then dashed like that. (I’ll be praying to St. Joseph for you. 🙂 )
    Thank you for posting on this! I’ve been trying to research (for a novel I’m writing) what the job application process for a law enforcement job is like (all I knew was that most people I’ve heard about it from got into law enforcement by going to the police academy), and I hadn’t gotten anywhere before reading this. Thank you so much. This helps a lot. 🙂

  10. It’s definitely a daunting and long process to get hired in LE. My husband was applying for almost 2 years before he was hired on. Each departments testing can be different, and the psych evals can be really tough. Once hired, it doesn’t get any easier. Going through the Academy and field training, odd ours, court on your day off, etc. But if it’s a passion for you, continue to pursue it. There are not many people in this world that can handle a job in Law Enforcement and we need all the good guys we can get. 😉

  11. I visited your post out of pure curiosity.Bachelors in Criminology caught my attention. I loved reading your post, very honest. Don’t get disheartened , back home we say ” Jo Huya, Acchay Kay Liay Huya” ( Whatever happens, happens for good) , there is something better in store for you 🙂 and as you said “There are not many people in this world that can handle a job in Law Enforcement and we need all the good guys we can get. 😉 “

  12. I’m glad you found and followed my blog, especially since that led me here, today. My best wishes and thoughts go out to you, as well as gratitude for the good you do (and hope to do). I look forward to reading more of what you share here.

  13. Hello, I am Danyealah and I am a young writer, blogger and poet. I really enjoyed reading your post. I found your honesty compelling and your optimism inspiring. I hope everything goes well for you and your family! 🙂

  14. I’m late to this party as I first clicked over here this week. What I have read so far any law enforcement agency would be blessed to have you. And I have to agree with the comment above, you made it through boot camp, you will make it through this. I live walking distance to MCRD here in San Diego and have for more than 20 years now. I can hear reveille every morning in my bedroom and the drill instructors during the day. I know it sounds cliche but when one door closes another will open. It wouldn’t be cliche if it wasn’t true. Look for those open doors, sometimes they look closed but are actually unlocked. Behind them will be where your supposed to be and it might be something other than law enforcement where you can use your skills in possibly better ways or learn new aspects of your skills and refine them. Open minds make for fulfilled lives. Hang in there and keep sharing. Your blog is great. I may have just started blogging myself, but have been reading them and commenting for years.

Leave a Reply

