Day Trip to Oaks Park

Olivia, Andrew, and I enjoyed the afternoon at Oaks Park and for those who don’t know where that is, it’s just on the other side of the river of downtown Portland, Oregon. This is the amusement park of Portland that most people have experienced at least once. Since Andrew is only four years old, we spent our time hanging out in the children’s section where the rides were not so intimidating.

The first thing we did was head over to the mini golf course where Andrew used his hands and feet more often then his club, but he had fun while Olivia and I played as well. After we were done with our eighteen holes, we decided to grab something small to eat before we headed over to the go-carts. I gave Andrew the option to ride with me (dad) or Olivia and he obviously picked the good looking girl (that’s my boy). We enjoyed a very friendly race for about eight laps. The next part was the actual rides, which from my experience, Andrew was deathly afraid of even the smallest ones.

The first one we went to, he met another boy his age while standing in line. This boy was in line with his two older sisters, which were only a few years older. Once it was our turn to get on the ride, the operator said that this other boy couldn’t get on the ride because he was too small and didn’t have a parent. I immediately looked at his guardian watching from afar and offered to take him with me, so that he didn’t have a broken heart. From that point on, Andrew and this boy, Elijah, were attached at the hip. Andrew was no longer afraid of the rides and they went on a number of others together. He was so confident that by the time Elijah had to leave, Andrew dragged Olivia and I to the rollercoaster that we ended up having so much fun on.

We spent roughly four hours there and only fifty bucks for this excitement. Needless to say though, we had to drag Andrew out when it was time to go. He went kicking and screaming but nonetheless had a blast and said he can’t wait until he gets to go back again.

I hope you all enjoy the attached pictures and please check out my Facebook blog page http://www.Facebook.com/rc3.blog

image

image

image

image

image
Andrew and Elijah

Andrew and Elijah

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

9 thoughts on “Day Trip to Oaks Park”

  1. Nice day trip with the kids. When I took mine to Disneyland, they were like little spark plugs right up to the car. Halfway through the parking lot they collapsed into our arms, exhausted.

  2. I love your blog name, it’s sweet. I think the father plays an important role in his kids lives. Who can be better than father who teach you how ro fight with the outside world. My childhood is lack of my father memories, he’s too busy to work. I always appreciate what he sacrificed for the family but I wish we can know each other better. My father is so strict…

    1. Those experiences are very unfortunate and sad to hear. Honestly wish things don’t have to be that way for families but some don’t understand time management and that family comes first before work. I rather be happy and getting by then wealthy and not with my family because I’m working.

Leave a Reply

