The ups and downs of this life

It has been a very hectic week or two as of late, with emotions ranging from very low to very high. To start from the top, on June 18th, I was told that my current job lost funding and that they couldn’t afford to keep me around any longer. With all my bills that I am required to pay, this scared me to no end and I was not sure what I was going to do, but hope and pray. One thing I had high hopes for was a job in the local county jail that paid really well. I applied back in February of this year, and with all the different steps of hiring that they are required to do, I am still in the process, but nearing the end. I have been applying for jobs like this for five years and have had no luck. My other hope was that I have never had an issue finding a job, but what job would it be worried me, and if it would pay enough to cover the bills. Two days after I got my notice from the boss about the end of my position, I applied to a number of different jobs, one in particular being a car salesman. Not particular something I look forward to but it is something I know that I can do with my past sales experience and how experienced I am at it.

Monday, June 23rd came around and I got a call from not one, but two managers from this dealership, wanting to interview me. The funny part is neither of them knew that the other called. I went in for an interview the following day, in the evening, and after a five minute interview, I was given a job offer and instructed to come back in on Friday. This job, I found out, has the potential of making much more then I am in my current position, which put my stress at ease rather quickly. This was one high point of the last two weeks.

The next high point happened on Monday, the 23rd again, I got an email from a background investigator for the jail position, letting me know that she will be contacting my references here shortly. What this meant to me is that the background portion of the process was about complete. What I remember was that upon successful completion of the background, you get a job offer. I have nothing to hide which made me relax knowing that there was nothing to worry about. The only thing is that I did not know how soon she would be contacting my references, until today, June 25th. I got another email from the investigator. She stated that she will begin contacting my references and to let them know to answer their phones. All through this day, I have been getting texts, Facebook messages, phone calls, anything you can think of, of people letting me know that they got contacted and were asked a series of questions about my character as a person and an employee. Again, I have nothing to hide at this point, so I had no worries.

Now I sit here and wait some more to see what the next step is but I have a feeling the excitement is not even close to being finished. If I were to get this job in the jail, my annual income will increase three times over my current pay and my life will officially start, and not just my life, but the life of my girlfriends and both of my kids. This has been something that I have been waiting for a long time, approximately ten years of my adult life.

Check out my Facebook page http://www.Facebook.com/rc3.blog

image

22 thoughts on “The ups and downs of this life”

  1. You are an amazing man and deserve all the great things life has in store for you! I am so lucky to be part of your life and every day you make me a better person because of it.
    I love you!

  2. Good luck to you and your kids. My son found himself in the same situation several years ago. He also chose weekends because he could spend real time with them as opposed to just a few hours each night. Good points and bad, but if you want it to work, it will. BTW, oohrah! from an “old corps” guy.

  3. Wishing you the very best in getting the job you want. I relate — thank goodness I’ve stayed employed, but I’ve been trying to get a different job (to move to a different part of the country) for four solid years… Still trying. 🙂

  4. What a moving post. I wish you the best of luck and know things will work well for you. I hope you get the offer you really want. And, thank you for stopping by my blog. It is nice to meet you.

  5. References can be the hardest part of any job process. Just one person not responding to a reference call cost me a really good job in a daycare center way back when I was in high school and now I’m extra careful about who I ask to be my wingman so to speak. I’m glad yours came through and I wish you luck.

  6. It felt good to read Your post. You had written that You had prayed. Not much along those lines afterwards. But it would seem that Your prayers have been heard, that Our prayers are heard! All the Best to Your Kids, Your Friend and to You.

  7. Hello Two kids plus Dad,
    It seems you’re doing all you can to make your world go round 🙂 And I believe all things come to those who work for it, and so you do, so although I just ‘ve read your blog, I believe it will come to you 😀 I wish your family enough.
    Warm Greetingz,
    M@rjon.

Leave a Reply

